When was to late, too late

To bad I didn’t start this diary when my son was four or five. Now, I’ve got to reach back into memory’s closet to write everything down.

I guess I should start by saying that this is a blog about me and my son. I was a single mother raising a child who was diagnosed with ADHD [attention deficit hyperactive disorder] at an early age.

This diagnosis was made twenty-three years ago when the medical community and the public made light of this condition.

I remember being made to feel like I was a bad mother. I had to work, I refused to be a welfare statistic. So, I landed a job with the U.S. Postal Service.

The problem was, I didn’t realize how my son’s active ways didn’t go over well with family, friends, neighbors or strangers for that matter. Needless to say, babysitting became a problem.

I worked the afternoon and night shift. I felt guilty then as I do now for not being with my son when he needed me most. I had no support system. My parents didn’t understand how and why their grandson would break loose and run in front of cars, or run head on into brick walls.Well, I’m not going to get ahead of myself. I want this diary to be in chronological order, as much as I can write it so.

For right now, this post will be to introduce the blog. Each day or every other day I will write what life was like raising an ADHD child.

ADHD children, mainly boys, aren’t bad children, they’re busy, very busy children. It seems that their brains are in fifth gear all the time, even when they sleep, and that’s IF they sleep. Their motors are running open throttle when most people’s motors are at a calm purr.

My son was active when I carried him in the womb. There were times when I thought a football game was being played in my uterus. Even worse, there were times when I thought he was going to rip out of my stomach like the aliens in the movie Alien.

When he first learned how to walk, if you call it that, it was a sprint and I had to run full speed to catch him.

I haven’t quite figured out where I’m going to start my story but stayed tuned, man, do I have some stories to tell you and hopefully some useful advice for those of you who find yourselves in the same predicament I was.

More to follow.

2 Responses

  1. I CAN TRUELY RELATE TO EVERY SITUATION IM IN TEARS READING THESE STORIES FROM ALL THE MOTHERS LIKE ME. I STILL CATCH MYSELF IN DENIAL AND ASKING WHY ME? WHAT DID I DO WRONG?

  2. […] dj3756Really interesting read I found today:ADHD children, mainly boys, aren’t bad children, they’re busy, very busy children. It seems that their brains are in fifth gear all the time, even when they sleep, and that’s IF they sleep. Their motors are running open throttle when … […]

Leave a Reply

